ADF and file Transfer (Server<>Amiga)

Wyse Vx0L thin ckient (v90l)
Wyse Vx0L thin ckient (v90l)
Laplink4 parallel cable
Laplink4 parallel cable
I used this one as i read somewhere that the Amiga parallel port is not 100% PC compatible
I used this one as i read somewhere that the Amiga parallel port is not 100% PC compatible
This type of cable is only compatible with Paradise like programs
This type of cable is only compatible with Paradise like programs

The sollution to transfer back adf images to a amiga disk was too slow for me.


It helps me to build my own boot disk and start an transfer tool called APCComm from Ralf Hoffmann.


APCComm is able to transfer files to/from Amiga and can write/dump adf images from/to Amiga floppy drive over an nullprinter (laplink) cable.


I compiled the source code on my OpenMediaVault running NAS over ssh (cool huh!?).


My NAS is a Wyse Vx0L thin client (v90l) with modded BIOS that allowes me to use SATA drives and is running OpenMediaVault NAS OS based on Debian 8.


It has an old printer port (Parallel port) and that was my starting point to search for programs like APCComm, create a laplink cable and connect the Amiga with my NAS.


PS: I know there are a lot of nullmodem sollutions but i wanted an parallel port connection because it is faster and deals with 5Volts not with 12Volts as used by the Serial ports.


After testing and playing arround i felt the ssh command line hacking was too complicated to transfer a single adf image.

So i build a Web interface for APCComm in PHP.

I can now enter my NAS ip address in my browser and choose an adf file from my NAS SATA Drive.

After confirming the image to send, the APCComm binary executes and waits for the Amiga.

APCComm runs on the Amiga too and ask which drive to use (DF0 DF1 DF2).

The transfer starts after confirming that.


This sollution is way faster and better as the Arduino Floppy method has some faults here and there or it is my old pc floppy drive.

Anyway Rob Smith's Arduino Floppy reader/writer has helped my a lot, thank you Rob.

New version, looks better now

Links and Downloads:

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0